RSS Feed

“The Mouse’s Marriage”

Another one of an interesting story! But sorry, I forgot where I got this one…
Hmm… well, enjoy reading!

ねずみの嫁入り

Once upon a time, there lived a wealthy mouse family. Their only son, Chusuke, was a good-natured young mouse, and Father Mouse and Mother Mouse were very proud of him.

One day Father Mouse said to Mother Mouse.

Father: “Wouldn’t we want our son to marry the best person in the world? Who could be the greatest in all the world?”

Mother: “It must be Taiyou-san (Ms. Sun). She lights up the whole world from high up in the sky.”

So Father Mouse and Mother Mouse visited Taiyou-san.

Father: “Taiyou-san, Taiyou-san, we beg you. You are the greatest person in the world. Will you marry our precious son?”

Mother: “Our only son is most good-natured, and we want him to wed the very best bride.”

Ms. Sun: “Hmm. The greatest person in the world is surely not myself but Kumo-san (Ms. Cloud). However hard I may try to light up the world, I am easily hidden away when Kumo-san comes out.”

So the two went on to see Kumo-san.

Mother: “Kumo-san, we have been told that you are the greatest person in the world. Please do take our dearest son as your groom.”

Ms. Cloud: “Oh no, there is someone greater than myself, It’s Kaze-san (Ms. Wind). However hard I may try to cover the sky, Kaze-san can blow me away with a single puff.”

Father: “I see.”

Then, Father Mouse and Mother Mouse went off to Kaze-san’s place.

Father: “Kaze-san, as you are the greatest person in the world, we would like you to marry our only son.”

Ms. Wind: “Well, thank you, but there is someone who is greater than myself.”

Mother: “Who is that?”

Ms. Wind: “It’s Kabe-san (Ms. Wall). However hard I blow, I just can’t blow her down.”

Finally, Father Mouse and Mother Mouse went to see Kabe-san.

Father: “Kabe-san, please wed our son. We want our son to marry the greatest person in the world and lead a happy life.”

Ms. Wall: “Ho-ho, Father Mouse and Mother Mouse, you are quite mistaken. If you mice nibble on me, I’m full of holes. The greatest ones in the world must be mice.”

Mother: “Now, that never occurred to us. So we are the greatest in the world!”

Father Mouse and Mother Mouse went back home smiling.

Father: “Well, we mice are the best after all.

Mother: Well then, Wakana Mouse next door gets along well with our son. If the two are happy to do so, it must be best for them to marry.”

So Wakana and Chusuke were happily wed. Their wedding celebrations went on for three days and three nights, and they lived happily ever after.

About サクラ

People call me Eri, so feel free to call me Eri ^^ よろしく!

Leave a Reply

